Kids Events

Wednesday, March 29

Thursday, March 30

Virtual Field Trip to Shedd Aquarium (Grades 3-6)

Thursday, March 30, 2017 -
10:30am to 11:30am
(Grades 3-6) Go on a virtual, behind-the-scenes field trip to the penguin habitat at Shedd Aquarium! We'll use videoconferencing technology to learn some of the surprising ways Shedd staffers care for these charismatic birds. Registration for this program begins on March 1!

Please note, due to the classroom nature of this experience, Shedd asks that only registered children are in the room during the program. If you have any concerns, please contact Elisa Gueffier at 847.245.5112.

Register

Saturday, April 15

Write Stuff

Saturday, April 15, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Join us the third Saturday of each month for a series of hour long creative writing workshops for kids in 3rd through 6th grade. We'll explore all kinds of writing throughout the year, with the goal of creating our own literary magazine. This month we'll theme. Registration will begin Wednesday, March 1, 2017.
Register

Sunday, April 16

Thursday, April 20

Novel Thoughts

Thursday, April 20, 2017 -
7:15pm to 8:15pm
Read the book, form an opinion and join us for a lively discussion (and snacks) ofBook Titleby Author. Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk. Grades 4-6. Registration begins Wednesday, March 1, 2017.
Register

Friday, April 28

A Concert with Laura Doherty

Friday, April 28, 2017 -
10:30am to 11:15am
Musician Laura Doherty will get us movin’ and groovin’ with her original, kid-friendly pop tunes!
Register

Thursday, May 18

Novel Thoughts

Thursday, May 18, 2017 -
7:15pm to 8:15pm
Read the book, form an opinion and join us for a lively discussion (and snacks) ofBook Titleby Author. Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk. Grades 4-6. Registration begins Monday, April 3, 2017.
Register

Saturday, May 20

Write Stuff

Saturday, May 20, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Join us the third Saturday of each month for a series of hour long creative writing workshops for kids in 3rd through 6th grade. We'll explore all kinds of writing throughout the year, with the goal of creating our own literary magazine. This month we'll theme. Registration will begin Monday, April 3, 2017.
Register

Sunday, May 28

Memorial Day - Library Closed

Sunday, May 28, 2017 - 12:00am
Lake Villa District Library is closed Sunday, May 28 and Monday, May 29 in observance of Memorial Day.

Monday, May 29

Saturday, June 17

Write Stuff

Saturday, June 17, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Join us the third Saturday of each month for a series of hour long creative writing workshops for kids in 3rd through 6th grade. We'll explore all kinds of writing throughout the year, with the goal of creating our own literary magazine. This month we'll theme. Registration will begin Monday, May 1, 2017.
Register

Thursday, June 22

Novel Thoughts

Thursday, June 22, 2017 -
7:15pm to 8:15pm
Read the book, form an opinion and join us for a lively discussion (and snacks) ofBook Titleby Author. Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk. Grades 4-6. Registration begins Monday, May 1, 2017.
Register

Monday, July 3

Tuesday, July 4

Saturday, July 15

Write Stuff

Saturday, July 15, 2017 -
1:00pm to 2:00pm
Join us the third Saturday of each month for a series of hour long creative writing workshops for kids in 3rd through 6th grade. We'll explore all kinds of writing throughout the year, with the goal of creating our own literary magazine. This month we'll theme. Registration will begin Thursday, June 1, 2017.
Register

Thursday, July 20

Novel Thoughts

Thursday, July 20, 2017 -
7:15pm to 8:15pm
Read the book, form an opinion and join us for a lively discussion (and snacks) ofBook Titleby Author. Copies of the book are available at the Circulation Desk. Grades 4-6. Registration begins Thursday, June 1, 2017.
Register